Institute of Biomaterials,
Tribocorrosion, and Nanomedicine


Introduction: We understand the need of multi-disciplinary research team to generate innovative solution to the critical clinical issues related to biocompatibility and durability of implants and formulating better clinical treatment/management.

This institute's main focus is on the research and teaching related to development and characterization of the biomaterials for the clinical applications. The team consists of clinicians, material scientists and mechanical engineers from College Of Dentistry-Restorative Dentistry and College of Engineering-Bioengineering at the University of Illinois at Chicago (UIC), Department of Mechanical Engineering at Michigan Technological University (MEEM-MTU), and Department of Orthopedics at Rush University Medical Center (RUMC).

Mission statement: Our mission is to contribute to the advance of scientific knowledge in biomaterials (development, surface modifications and characterization) for the versatile clinical application for generating and maintaining implants with required durability and multifunctional performance.

Vision statement: IBTN aims to be a leading research institute in the area of biomaterial and bioengineering for multifunctional, durable and safer implants in the health care sector, particularly in dentistry and orthopedics.

8th IBTN Symposium: IBTN annual symposium will be held on April 15th 2019 at Collge of Dentistry, UIC. More details: Click here for more details

We focus our research in the following areas:

  1. Biomaterials
  2. Nano-surfaces
  3. Nano-medicine
  4. Bio-Corrosion
  5. Tribocorrosion
  6. Clinical application in Dentistry
  7. Clinical application in Orthopedics


Dr.Cortino Sukotjo

Dr. Cortino Sukotjo (DDS, PhD)


UIC College of Dentistry
University of Illinois Chicago

Dental implants, Bio-materials, Cell study


(312) 355-0360 (Office)


Dr. Takoudis

Prof. Christos G Takoudis (PhD)


Advanced Materials Research Lab Department of Bioengineering and Chemical engineering

Materials, Chemistry, Surface characterization


(312) 355-0859 (Office)


Dr. Mathew

Dr. Mathew Mathew (PhD)


Department of Biomedical Science
UIC School of Medicine ,Rockford IL

Orthopedics implants, Corrosion, Tribocorrosion


(815) 395-5883


Dr. Tolou Shokuhfar

Dr. Tolou Shokuhfar (PhD)


UIC Bioengineering
University of Illinois Chicago

Biomaterials, Nanotubes, Nanomedicine


(312) 413-9872


Associate Members

Dr.Louis Mercuri

Dr. Louis Mercuri (DDS, PhD)

Professor (Adjunct)

Rush University Medical Center

Alloplastic Temporomandibular Joint Replacement, Tissue Reactions to Biomaterials


Dr. Xue-Jun Li

Dr. Xue-Jun Li (PhD)

Associate Professor

Department of Biomedical Sciences

Degeneration of motor neurons, Large projection neurons controlling the movement of muscles



Dr. Shahbazian-Yassar

Dr. Reza Shahbazian-Yassar (PhD)

Associate Professor

Department of Mechanical & Industrial Engineering

Biomaterials, Nano-Electronics,
Energy Storage



Dr.Valentim Barao

Dr. Valentim Barao (DDS, PhD)

Assistant Professor

Department of Prosthodontics and Periodontology
University of Campinas, Brazil

Dental implants, corrosion, biofilm



Name E-mail
Emre Firlar efirlar@gmail.com
Mohammad Mahdi Taheri taheri@uic.edu
Divyarani V V divyaraniv@gmail.com
PhD Students
Su Huang shuang94@uic.edu
Shayan Shaifee -
David Banner dbanne2@uic.edu
Eric Lee ericl85@gmail.com
Kai-yuan Cheng ggf080@gmail.com
Trevor Moser -
Arghya Kamal Bishal abisha2@uic.edu
Surya Narayanan snaray8@uic.edu
Reza Ghodsi -
Medical/Dental Students
Craig Sikora craiglsikora@gmail.com
Alec Zurek azurek2@uic.edu
Christina Schlitz cschil7@uic.edu
Amy Au aau2@uic.edu
Saad Al-Resayes isa3ad@gmail.com
Mary Lyvers mlyver2@uic.edu
Bartlomiej Radzik radzik1@uic.edu
Master Students
Sai Bhosle sai.bhosle12@gmail.com
Vikram Dube vdube2@uic.edu
Poojitha Vellore Jaysukumar pvello3@uic.edu
Abhijit Phakatkar aphaka2@uic.edu
Undergraduate Students
Daniel Stein dstein20@uic.edu
Kristin Klutcharch kklutc2@uic.edu
Jose Villanueva jvila60@uic.edu
Peter Errichiello perric2@uic.edu
  1. Azhang Hamlekhan
  2. John Grotberg
  3. Pete Rossman
  4. Newton Lucchiari Jr
  5. Gustavo Da Col dos Santos Pinto
  6. Valentim Barao
  7. Savithri Abey
  8. Rizina Hakimiyan
  9. Bavani H. Patel
  10. Bela deepak Joshi
  11. Himani Gauda
  12. Maria Joao Runa
  13. Isabella da Silva Vieira Marques
  14. Alec Zurek
  15. Charles Laser Palin
  16. Natalie Baker
  17. John Grotberg
  18. Shelley Kerwell
  19. Sahand Zomorrodian
  20. Eik-Lang Lau
  21. Dmitry Royhman
  22. Sofia A Alves
  23. Arman Butt
  24. Maria F. Alfaro
  25. Sathees Selvaraj
  26. Salman Farooqui
  27. Roopali Mittal
  28. Irene Ohare


  • Fretting Corrosion(Modular Junction).
  • Fretting Corrosion Behavior at Modular Junctions as a Function of Displacement.
  • Temporomandibular Joint (TMJ) Implant Retrieval Study
  • Influence of Nicotine on the Tribocorrosion Behavior of Ti6Al4V Alloy in Artificial Saliva
  • Tribolayer Formation
  • Fatigue property of anodized Ti-6Al-4V in biological environment
  • Annealed titania nanotubes: Wettability and corrosion behavior of modified Ti-6Al-4V
  • “In vitro Comparison of Head-Neck Taper Junction vs. Bone-Stem Interface Fretting Corrosion in a Total Hip Arthroplasty Model
  • Tribocorrosion of Thermally Treated Ti-V Samples
  • The Effect of Tribological Fretting on Ti6Al4V Alloy with Varying pH and Frequency

Most Recent Publications:

For a complete list of publications in Pubmed visit HERE


  • Regular Meetings are taking place @ Dental school(COD) and AMRL-Lab alternatively
    • At COD(West campus): 11.30am-12.30pm
    • At AMRL (East campus): 11am-12pm.
    click here for Schedule:


Tolou Shokuhfar received a Diversity Award, read more
American Prosthodontic Society (APS) Annual meeting 2015
1. Natalie Baker:Second place in Oral Presentation
2. Maria Alfaro: First place for Table Clinic
3. Isabella Marques:Second place for table clinic
Research Day 2015, College of Dentistry-UIC
1. Isabella Marques: First place -postgraduate Clinical fellows (Basic Science)
2. Maria Alfaro: 1st place Research Associate
IADR 2015 PROS.Frechette Award
1.Isabella Marques(short listed)
SFB-Best Hospital Intern Award-2017
Mary Elizabeth Lyvers


Picture Gallery

IBTN Events

Institute of Biomaterials, Tribocorrosion and Nanomedicine (IBTN)

Email: ibtn.us@gmail.com

UIC College of Dentistry

801 S Paulina St #129
Chicago, IL 60612
Phone: 312-355-0360
Email: csukotjo@uic.edu

Advanced Materials Research Lab

Department of Bioengineering and Chemical Engineering
900 West Taylor Street
Chicago, IL 60607
Phone: 312-355-1322
Email: takoudis@uic.edu

Regenerative Medicine & Disability
Research Lab (RMDR)

Department of Biomedical Science
UIC School of Medicine
Rockford, IL
Phone: 815-395-5883
Email: mtmathew@uic.edu

In-situ Nanomedicine Laboratory

Department of Bioengineering
842 W Taylor St
Chicago, IL 60607
Phone: 312-413-9872
Email: tolou@uic.edu